the monkey is in the bed

My most beautiful child and I talked about “the chimp”.He lives at her house too.He lives somewhere to the left in me,but maybe somewhere different for her.He is a very strong monkey.5 times stronger than I….unlike pretty primates,this monkey is unkind.He is a strange colour.Perhaps a deep purple?

funny_strange_amazing_weird_monkey_pics_images_photos_pictures_1

Now what does my monkey do? Well, as soon as I roll over in the large morning bed, the monkey(who is already awake) starts to whisper.As I think lovely thoughts about my children,my friends and my soulmate,the monkey whispers..but are you sure? I try and ignore the whispers but as morning struggles on amidst high winds,a cold house,and to the sounds of the traffic on the lane,the whispers become loud voices.Like fights you can hear through thin walls.

The monkey by 2pm is almost shouting,and as I try to leave it behind in other rooms,or in the wine aisle at the local corner shop,it still finds it’s way home.By late afternoon the monkey has reminded me of my many,many flaws.He has ripped my frailty to shreds and left me panting in a corner with a deep sense of loss.By 8pm he has stolen my breath.

Sometimes the monkey grabs my hands and shakes them so the words I try and place within my novels scatter and flee.He makes sure that the places I tidy in an attempt to escape from this non-pet are messy with old food hidden underneath the fridge and the cooker.He makes sure that he invites friends over when I am asleep,so they can blow the fence down,unhinge cabinets,break the hot water tap.

So why should I keep this monkey ?He is an old non- pet.I got him when I cannot remember.The truth is?This monkey is me and I am it.And one of these days we will enter the ringed box and face each other with the gloves of truth and non truth.

But apparently.Not yet.

monkey2

 

About stepfordsingles

single and relieved
This entry was posted in Authors, bi polar, philosophy, writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the monkey is in the bed

  1. Cathy Haselau says:

    Your deep purple monkey looks cold – I think you should give him a nice warm jumper and a bobble hat to warm him up – maybe he won’t be so grumpy then, nor shout so loud!

  2. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  3. snoopdanni says:

    Such clever wording, so visual. I learned studying communications that one could “write a feeling” without describing it. You have very much done so and I love to read your feelings, especially when they mirror my own, often without realising it.

Leave a comment